Professional dreams are not as far off as they seem

30 Jan

I have dreamt about working for the Seattle Mariners for years. I have wanted to work in professional sports for as long as I can remember. After discovering my niche of baseball, the dream to work for the Mariners came easily.

SafeCo Field Seattle, Wash., on Apr. 21, 2012, Seattle Mariners vs. Chicago White Sox.

SafeCo Field Seattle, on April 21, 2012, when Philip Humber pitched a perfect game for the White Sox against the Seattle Mariners.

Through my LinkedIn network I found Jesse Manzo, a recent University of Oregon graduate and a new employee of the Seattle Mariners. Manzo also completed the Diamond Duck internship for the 2012 season, which is the same internship I completed in the 2011 season. Realizing the commonalities between Manzo and me, I knew he would have helpful insight.

Manzo’s job title is client sales and services associate at Seattle Mariners, which is an entry-level position. The business of professional sports is difficult to break into, but once you’re in you have the ability to work your way up. Manzo had no sales experience but easily adjusted to the job. He enjoys his position and feels confident about the opportunities to advance within the company.

The best advice Manzo provided me with was to access Team Work Online, where they list all available jobs in sports. Using Team Work Online I can find entry-level positions at all levels in baseball from collegiate to MLB.

You have heard it a million times, but building relationships with your professors is immensely beneficial to your career goals. A huge part of Manzo’s success was networking with his professors in sports business. It is important to gain relationships with professors because they have connections and can provide you with great recommendations.

Manzo provided me with great advice for breaking into the sports business world, whether with the Seattle Mariners or any other sports team:

  • Don’t get discouraged by friends getting jobs around you.
  • Wait for a job in the sports industry – it will come – don’t settle for something you don’t enjoy.
  • The sooner you start looking, the better off you’ll be.
  • The more experience you can get in the sports industry, the better off you’ll be.
  • Use Team Work Online
  • Build relationships with your professors!

Something Manzo said stuck with me, and I believe it’s a perfect way to end this  blog post: “Don’t be so eager to find a job; the job will find you. You just have to be patient; it’s all about finding the perfect match.”

Leave a comment